Homestead Exemptions


  • A homestead exemption is available to those who own and occupy a property as their principal place of residence and will reduce your property taxes.
  • To apply, the home must be your legal residence as of January 1st for all purposes, often including the registration of your vehicles and the filing of your income tax.
  • The recorded deed will be required to apply for the exemption along with additional supporting documents (varies by county).
  • You must apply before April 1st of the year following your closing.
  • The exemption is automatically renewed each following year so long as you continually occupy the home under the same ownership.
  • You cannot have the homestead exemption on more than one property.


  • Some Georgia counties now accept deed recordings electronically.
  • If your deed is recorded electronically, you will receive a copy of the recorded deed via email and will NOT receive the original deed.

See below for information on the exemption in your county:

Fulton County

Dekalb County

Cobb County

Forsyth County

Gwinnett County

Cherokee County

Clayton County

Paulding County

Dawson County

Bartow County

Pickens County